Scenic Spots Introduction

The Tannan Elementary School

Founded in 1951, the Tannan Elementary School occupies land of 0.38 hectares and is a mini school with only 100 students.
After the 921 Earthquake, a lot of buildings and houses collapsed and so did this elementary school. When the reconstruction team stationed in the village, the local residents advocated that children were the hope of the tribe, and their future rested on education. So school reconstruction was the first priority. After much deliberation, a consensus was reached to use a traditional house as the blueprint for the school; the millet granary, or the most sacred spot in a traditional Bunun house, is the library of the school as it symbolizes the storage of knowledge. Much of the semi-outdoor platform space outside of the library is reserved for performance and ceremony that sufficiently connects the school with the tribe; the classrooms on the second floor are the learning site for Bunun teenagers; finally, the bell towers, water towers and flag stands symbolize the tall observatory platform.
Although the campus is relatively small, the village sports game is an important event for the tribe. Running competition is the climax of the game, and thus, a running track is required. This is why the entire campus and student dormitory are both located inside the track.
The school buildings were constructed using modern construction materials such as T-type steel plates and matte plats and traditional gray Bunun stone plates to fit the school into the tribe. The novelty design and bright colors have overturned the boring and stereotypical impressions that most people have about schools. First-time visitors usually think that this school is a fenceless coffee shop.
Tannan Elementary School is not only the pride, but also the hope of the tribe.

Google Map
Last updated date:2018-05-15
Leave a message in my Facebook
Scenic spot Info
  • Coordinates:
  • 120.94025718684873, 23.821496681260697
  • Tel:
  • 886-49-2741381
  • Opening hours:
  • close service
Travel Theme
Related Scenic Spots

潭南國小

潭南國小,創校於西元1951年,佔地點0.38公頃,是個只有不到100個學生的迷你小學。

921大地震,潭南村許多建築都被震倒,潭南國小也無法倖免;當重建團隊入駐村落時,當地居民主張「孩子是族人的希望,孩子的未來在教育」,以學校的重建為優先;經過各方充分討論之後,一致決議以傳統家屋的雛型為學校重建主軸;傳統布農家屋中央最神聖的位置「小米倉」,就是學校的圖書館,象徵知識的糧倉;圖書館外的一樓層面留有許多半戶外的平台空間,既可以展演又可以舉行祭典,充分和部落活動結合;二樓的教室則是布農少年的學習場所;高聳的瞭望台作為鐘塔、水塔、旗架等。

雖然校地不大,每年在學校舉行的村運卻是部落的重要活動,賽跑是運動會的重頭戲,需要保留環狀跑道,於是校舍蓋在跑道中間的學校就此產出。

質材則採用T型鋼板、霧面耐力板等現代建材,加上布農族傳統的灰黑石板,將學校融入鄉野中。用色鮮明、設計新穎的建築,徹底顛覆了國小校舍予人單調無趣的刻板印象;第一次來到潭南的訪客,常會誤以為這座沒有圍牆的建築是coffee shop。

潭南國小是村民的驕傲,更是族人的希望。

(本網頁線上語音由「工研院文字轉語音Web服務」提供,目前可在IE10相容模式與Google Chrome、Firefox瀏覽器上執行)

Google 地圖
最後更新日期:107-05-15
Facebook 網友留言
景點資訊
  • 經緯度:
  • 120.94025718684873, 23.821496681260697
  • 電  話:
  • 886-49-2741381
  • 開放時間:
  • 不對外開放參觀
旅遊主題